X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does my kitchen need exorcising?

Ladies of Landover, I need your advice.

As some of you know I am unmarried and as I'm sure all of you know the best way of remedying that is through delicious pies. With that in mind I cleared some time yesterday to practice.

I spoke to my married neighbour and he said his favourite pie was an apple one. I'm not for one moment suggesting that I was baking pies to lure him from his (admittedly hell-bound) wife, just that that seemed like a good place to start - I had proof after all that it was a pie liked by men (and to think the atheists accuse us of ignoring evidence).

As I'm still new to the ways of offering pie to men I decided to use a pre-made apple pie filling and pre-made pastry. It's possible the Lord took exception to this laziness, I'm not sure - advice would be welcome.

Well, I laid out all the ingredients and set the oven to pre-heat. I started weighing out the cinammon, as my neighbour was very clear that a real apple pie must have cinammon, and then went to my closet to pray for a succesful pie.

When I got back to the kitchen there was an odd smell in the air but I just assumed that was a normal part of the pie making process. I started opening the can of pie filling but the smoke alarm made me jump and I cut my hand quite badly on the jagged edge of the can and spilt the pie filling all over the floor. At this point I'm ashamed to say I cursed quite loudly but fortunately managed to avoid taking the Lord's name in vain.